Skip to main content

Congratulations to Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Georgio Parisi, laureates of the 2021 Nobel Prize for Physics


The Nobel Prize in Physics 2021 was awarded "for groundbreaking contributions to our understanding of complex systems" to Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann "for the physical modelling of Earth's climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming" and to Giorgio Parisi "for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales."

  • Share

Characterised by randomness and disorder, complex systems are difficult to understand. This year's prize recognised new methods for describing them and predicting their long-term behaviour.

Understanding complex systems is also at the heart of ESRF research themes, ranging from glasses and liquid systems behaviour at different length- and time-scales, structured nano-materials for many applications in high-density energy storage and information technology, to the behaviour and functioning of living systems materials, and experimental modelling of atmosphere formation processes and their relation to climate change. Scientists from the Max Plank Institute  and from University La Sapienza, collaborating with Prof. K. Hasselmann and Prof. G. Parisi respectively, often use ESRF beamlines to carry out their investigations on complex systems.

Warmest congratulations to Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Giorgio Parisi from all of us at the ESRF.